Help Center

Send Top-Secret Documents

In this post you will learn how to protect files you share

Do you ever send top-secret documents about your impending plans for world domination?

No, neither do we.

But sometimes we need to send some sensitive information — like financial documents or strategy specifics or other boring stuff (not about taking over the world) — that we wouldn’t want to get out there for the general public.

This would be the perfect time to actually use everyone’s favorite ephemeral messaging service (deer filter is optional when sending key financial documents).

Unfortunately, Snapchat isn’t generally an accepted method of business communication.

But Droplr is. And it can help with that too.

With our self-destructing Drops, you can share documents, links, or any other media in the same lightning-fast, insanely simple way but with more control. You can choose to let the Drop live for one hour, one day, or one week. Then it will — poof — disappear.

You can use the self-destruct feature with from the Droplr app either for PC or Mac.

Here’s all you need to do:

  1. Create a Drop from a file, link, or screenshot.
  2. Right-click on the Droplr icon in your task tray.
  3. Locate the Drop you just created and click “Self-Destruct.”
  4. Select your destruction time period.

This can be helpful even if you aren’t doing anything dubious or confidential.

You can also use it as a simple way to keep your Drops and collections organized. Rather than hanging onto every single link or file you’ve ever shared, just set them to destruct after people have had enough time to access what they needed.

You’ll reduce clutter and keep your collections nice and neat.

Plus, there’s absolutely zero chance that your top-secret plan to take over the worl — er, meet next quarter’s financial projections — will ever possibly get into the hands of someone you don’t want to see it.

Going private

If you want permanent Drops that still have an added layer of security, you can make them private.

To do this, just open either Droplr dash or the desktop application and click “Options.” Click “Change Privacy” and check the box to make your Drops private.

This does two things:

  1. It makes your Drop URLs longer and more secure.
  2. It allows you to password protect your Drops with ease.
short link

With private mode engaged, you can keep sending the full URL for your Drops just like always. Or, just send the first part as a link and the second portion becomes the password. It’s your choice. Pretty slick, huh?